Linux: HowTo Identify Server ECC Memory Modules

How do I identify Linux server ECC memory modules from a shell prompt?

You need to count the chips on the module. If memory module has 9 chips per sides, it is ECC memory (EDAC protected memory). It may or may not be registered. If the memory module has 8 chips per side, it is not ECC memory modules.

You can get this information by visiting your BIOS setup menu. Another option is to use dmidecode command to dump bios memory information from a shell prompt:
# dmidecode --type 16

# dmidecode 2.11
SMBIOS 2.5 present.

Handle 0x0016, DMI type 16, 15 bytes
Physical Memory Array
	Location: System Board Or Motherboard
	Use: System Memory
	Error Correction Type: Single-bit ECC
	Maximum Capacity: 64 GB
	Error Information Handle: Not Provided
	Number Of Devices: 8

To see memory speed and other information, enter:
# dmidecode --type memory

Posted by: SXI ADMIN

The author is the creator of SXI LLC and a seasoned sysadmin, DevOps engineer, and a trainer for the Linux operating system/Unix shell scripting. Get the latest tutorials on SysAdmin, Linux/Unix and open source topics via RSS/XML feed or weekly email newsletter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous Post

How to Make Website WCAG Compliant?

Next Post

Link download Kali Linux 2020.1 (ISO + Torrent)

Related Posts